Computation error

JW
Jonathan Waldner ID: 2206 Posts: 11
19 Jul 2012 06:08 PM

Hi, for the last few days, most of the jobs my PC does result in a computation error.  What gives? And is there anything I can do about it?

Mark McA ID: 179 Posts: 210
19 Jul 2012 10:28 PM

Hi Jonathan, is your PC overclocked?

JW
Jonathan Waldner ID: 2206 Posts: 11
20 Jul 2012 03:33 AM

No it isn't.  Was working fine till now.  The only change I've made to anything is install a new router, which I haven't had any time to adjust settings for.  Is it possible that the  jobs don't download properly? Just thinking, because the timing coincides perfectly.

Mark McA ID: 179 Posts: 210
20 Jul 2012 04:38 PM

Yes, it's possible. Please email the tech guys (contact at charityengine.com) and they'll be able to help.

JW
Jonathan Waldner ID: 2206 Posts: 11
20 Jul 2012 05:58 PM

Ok, thanks.

v
vm1990 ID: 2547 Posts: 16
22 Jul 2012 12:54 AM

it can be caused by ANYTHING from silly things like drivers being out of date to hardware failure... please keep us updated and if you dont find it we can go through the common issues :D hope its just the router.. also might be worth running a speedtes and pingtest on speedtest.net and pingtest.net  pingtest has a jitter function to basicly tell you if your connection has microdrops on it. speedtest you can watch to see if your getting a consistant speed. both might help to see if theres a problem or just a bad setting lingering on your router

JW
Jonathan Waldner ID: 2206 Posts: 11
22 Jul 2012 04:02 AM

I switched back to my old router and everything seems to be fine.  I'll fiddle with it in winter.